About the Board

BOE in front of central office building

About the Board 

As the official policymaking body of the Suffern Central School District, the Board of Education ensures that the district fulfills its mission to educate for personal excellence. In its primary role as a prudent steward of the public’s investment in education, the Board is dedicated to the following strategic goals:


  • Ensuring the district’s fiscal health by balancing fairness to the taxpayer and the best interests of students
  • Developing policies that support the administration in implementing data-driven best practices to advance student achievement and manage district resources
  • Assuring the district is able to meet the educational needs of all students and challenge each child to achieve to his or her fullest potential

View Board policies, meeting agendas and minutes in BoardDocs.

Meet the Board

The Board is comprised of seven members; each member is elected to serve an unpaid, three-year term.
Questions?  Contact the District Clerk at districtclerk@sufferncentral.org or 845-357-7783, ext. 11237.

Please contact Board of Education members by using the email address: boardofeducation@sufferncentral.org.


BOE member AmanyAmany Messieha Dgheim, M.D., President

Dr. Messieha Dgheim is a medical management consultant and the mother of two Suffern Central alumni. She has coordinated the Microsurgery Training Program at Columbia University and held multiple paramedical and public health instruction posts. Since becoming an active PTA member in 1998, Dr. Dgheim has held several leadership positions, including Suffern Middle School PTA President, Suffern Central PTA Council President and Central Hudson Region PTA Director.  She currently serves on the New York State PTA Board of Directors as Wellness Coordinator and represents the SCSD Board on the District’s SHAC and the Rockland County Department of Health School Health and Wellness Coalition Steering Committee and Physical Activity Workgroup. She was first elected to the Board of Education in May 2014.

Angus MacKenzieAngus MacKenzie, Vice President

Mr. MacKenzie is a retired New York City police detective. Born and raised in Suffern, he received a Bachelor’s Degree from St. John’s University and a Master’s Degree from John Jay College of Criminal Justice. Mr. MacKenzie has three children in the District and volunteers his time as a football coach for the Suffern Middle School football team, Suffern Midget Mounties, and the Ramapo PAL Flag Football league. In 2018, he was inducted into the Suffern Rotary. Mr. MacKenzie was elected to the Board in May 2018.


Don CairnsDonald Cairns

Mr. Cairns was elected to the Board in May 2018. A graduate of Rider College, Cairns earned his Master’s Degree at the University of Maryland and was a social studies teacher in the East Ramapo School District for over 30 years. Most recently he has served as the Executive Director for the Rockland Community College Foundation and has received numerous awards and honors for his volunteer efforts throughout the County.



Tom DonnellyTom Donnelly

Mr. Donnelly was elected to the Board in May. A graduate of Suffern High School, Mr. Donnelly earned his bachelor’s degree from Mercy College and worked as a police officer for the Town of Ramapo before recently retiring. Mr. Donnelly has been a familiar face within the district, as he served as the Suffern High School resource officer for the past 17 years.



Matthew Kern
Matthew Kern

A certified New York State public librarian and trained archivist, Mr. Kern is currently a supply chain director for Menasha Packaging. He holds a Master of Library Science degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and is the father of a preschooler and two Montebello Elementary School students. Mr. Kern was elected to the Board of Education in May 2016. 



Melissa ReimerMelissa Reimer 

A graduate of San Diego State University, Ms. Reimer is a Certified Public Accountant. She has been living in the Suffern Central School District for more than 21 years and is the mother of two high school students.  Ms. Reimer was elected to the Board of Education in May 2018.




Paul ShapiroPaul Shapiro

Mr. Shapiro was elected to the Board in May. A graduate of the University of Pittsburgh, he earned his master’s degree from the College of New Rochelle and an advanced certificate in administration/supervision from SUNY New Paltz. Mr. Shapiro is a retired school teacher and building administrator, and has held previous positions in the District including interim principal at Montebello Elementary School, and acting Assistant Principal at Suffern High School.