Congratulations to Montebello Elementary School students Drew Kastin (1st grade), Leah Ashlynn Murray (2nd grade), Jordan Leurbourg (4th Grade), and Ava Wanamaker (5th grade), who became honorary Mayors for the day in the Village of Airmont, NY on Wednesday, March 13. This is the second time Mayor Gigante opened his doors to the students of Suffern Central who were asked to either write an essay or create a poster detailing what they would do if they were mayor for the day.

The day began with a private “Mayor’s Briefing” discussing the agenda for the day and then a tour of Village Hall to introduce the students to the various departments and what they do for the residents of Airmont. They all then presided over a Joint Work Session in the meeting room, where each mayor was able to discuss their ideas for ways to improve the community including road safety, planting more trees, educational field trips and additional after-school programs for students with working parents.

After being presented with Certificates of Distinction for their contest entries, the students helped sign the certificates for all of their peers who entered as well, before joining Mayor Gigante for a pizza lunch.

The Mayor for a Day Contest was first proposed by Mayor Gigante last year and piloted with students from Cherry Lane Elementary School. Mayor Gigante plans to continue the popular program later this year with students from Suffern Middle School and Suffern High School.

#MountiePride #SuffernCentral #Community