On Tuesday night, during the Board of Education meeting, the REACH Foundation of Rockland recognized and awarded 46 educators with classroom grants. These grants are given annually to allow for the pursuit of innovative educational activities that go above or beyond the day-to-day school offerings.

“We are awarding the Suffern Central School District teachers for their creative and innovative learning ideas,” said REACH Foundation representative, Marlo Dickman. “This year we received a record number of applications, almost two times as many as last year. We increased our budget to support as many proposals as we could and received help from the Retired Teacher’s Association, bringing the total number of grants to $25,000. We’d like to thank the entire Suffern Central School District, and in particular, Lisa Weber, whose depth of knowledge has been an invaluable resource to us throughout the process.”

Project submissions varied and included escape room challenges, Ozobots, sensory hallway construction, a garden irrigation system, and much more. Visit the Reach Foundation’s STEAM Expo on Saturday, April 6, 2019, to see many of these grant recipients showcasing their projects in action.

Congratulations once again to all our teachers for their dedication to creative learning.

Cherry Lane: Tara Velto, Erin Murphy, Andrea Edwards, Kimberly Kavanaugh, Nicole Mackenzie

Montebello: Eleanor Cerny, Jennifer Cancro

RP Connor: Trish Lanese, Margaret DeStaso, Kelly Benadi, Christine Dunn, Dawn Bean, Patricia Keenan, Gina Pepe, Cristina Rudzinski, Ann Biondi, Lauren Burr, Eileen Kearney, Colleen Davis

Sloatsburg: Dee Martin, Michelle McKiernan

Viola: Jennifer Butler, Kathleen Kratchman, Lynda Hammond, Rob Zink, Liz Rolston, Christine Kear, Isabella Birkett, David Celli, Cathy Battaglia, Ted Zobel, Ellen Philbrick, Dawn Postolowski, Rosan Shedler, Vanessa Rodriguez, Jessica Kogan, Renee Dawson, Ellen Stone, Michael Drab

Suffern Middle School: Gary Blake, Susan Wickes, Gayle Yodowitz, Beth Boehning

Suffern High School: Tracy Berges, Ken Wojehowski, Angela Greer