On Monday, May 4th, Arpitha Abraham and Anara Katz, the co-presidents of the Suffern High School Environmental Activism Club (EAC) were invited by Village of Suffern Mayor Ed Markunas and Village Clerk/Deputy Treasurer Ms. Amy Paffenroth to speak to the Village of Suffern’s Board of Trustees in their virtual meeting. The EAC was asked to research and create a statement regarding the potential health and community impacts of the Danskammer Fracked Gas Power Plant proposed to be made in Newburgh, NY. EAC is now a part of Suffern’s newly created Climate Smart Community task force, a program created by New York State to help individual communities reduce their climate imprint and shift to becoming greener. This task force was proposed by our senior co-presidents earlier in the school year and was voted and agreed upon by the Village Board of Trustees.

Arpitha represented the high school’s portion of the task force by reading a statement against the expansion and creation of a full-time fracking facility. Mayor Markunas proposed a resolution opposing the Danskammer, LLC build out proposal, which was supported by all of the trustees of the Village Board.

Even in the midst of a quarantine and crisis, our students are still working on their goals and fighting for what they believe in!

#MountiePride #SuffernCentral #classof2020 #SeniorSpotlight

The last day of school for Suffern Central will be Monday, June 15. Click here for more information.

El último día de clases para Suffern Central será el lunes 15 de junio. Haga clic aquí para obtener más información.